Search

La Chapelle Notre Dame du Cloître

The site served as headquarters for the Morbihan 1st FFI battalion from June 15 to 23, 1944, and was used as a weapons cache and to conceal equipment after night-time airdrops. The maquis was attacked by the Germans on June 21 and 22, 1944, but on the 21st the Germans turned back after suffering a few losses.
The next day, when they returned with reinforcements, they found no more people, weapons or ammunition. Mad with rage, they looted the village and blew up the chapel.
They killed prisoners and Resistance fighters over the next 2 days.

A mass grave of 24 bodies was discovered on June 24, 1944.

Photo credit and contribution Le Bourvellec Eric

Location for : Listing Title